Recent Searches
Clear

Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland

star-4.5106 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Lisbon, Portugal
57

From $106.16

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 5 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Discover the highlights of Sintra on a private half-day tour from Lisbon. Visit two UNESCO World Heritage sites—Pena National Palace and Quinta da Regaleira—and see Montserrate Palace and other landmarks. Soak in the ocean views as you pass through Cabo da Roca and Cascais, and have time to purchase lunch in the historical center of Sintra.
  • Insightful commentary provided by the guide
  • Have more flexibility with a private tour
  • See magnificent castles and the scenic coastline
  • Ideal for people with limited time
Have questions?
(888) 651-9785
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Private tour
Bottled water
Free Wi-Fi
Lunch
Entrance fees - Avoid waiting in line by letting us buy the tickets for you!

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We'll pick you up at your designated address

Airports

  • Lisboa Airport, Alameda das Comunidades Portuguesas, Lisbon 1700-111 Portugal


Ports

  • Lisbon Cruise Port


Departure Time

9:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Avoid waiting in line by letting us buy the tickets for you!
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Avenidas

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Sintra Half-Day Private Tour - A Journey through Wonderland.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
106 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 106 reviews
star-4
Me and my daughter took a private half day trip of Sintra as we had a short time and Jose Marcel was great . Our trip wa
Shalini_V
, Jun 2021
Me and my daughter took a private half day trip of Sintra as we had a short time and Jose Marcel was great . Our trip was informative , due to COVID their were no queue so he made sure we saw most of sight seeing , more than what was incl in the trip. He took us to Geronimo church in Balem very impressive and lot more . We are very happy with Jose ans his service . Thank you Jose you made our trip wonderful .
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great day out at Sintra
Paul_F
, Mar 2020
Our guide was brilliant with very comprehensive knowledge of the palace history and the royals that lived there. He made the tour very interesting and was very entertaining. He also found us a great restaurant for lunch and took us into the town for a look around. Altogether an excellent tour with a great guide.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words Paul. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra as much as you did! Hope to see you soon! Here for you
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun day with Louis!!
Sullivans
, Mar 2020
So much fun with Louis who was so friendly and went above and beyond to show us so much in Portugal!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words Sullivans. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and Luis' company as much as you did! Hope to see you soon! Here for you
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great day out
Daman_L
, Feb 2020
Great relaxed tour , easy paced good information , parking at sites close to entry points , relaxed lunch
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words Daman. We're glad you liked the tour and Sintra as much as you did! Hope to see you soon! Here for you
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
One of the highlights of our trip
Christie_M
, Feb 2020
Alice was the best. She took such great care of us, showed us places we would have never found on our own. We highly recommend this tour and Alice.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words Christie. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and Alice's company as much as you did! Hope to see you soon! Here for you
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Worth the money
anneaunio
, Jan 2020
Our driver/guide José arrived on time. He was knowledgeable, never rushed us and answered all the questions and beyond. We visited 3 Palacios; National de Sintra, National da Pena and de Monserrate. We actually enjoyed the first and the last best. Jose took us to a bakery/cafe where only the locals find their way. We visited the most western point of the continental Europe, Gabo da Roca and drove back along the shore line through the city of Cascais. Wonderful day, highly recommend to anyone!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your kind words Anne. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and José's company as much as you did! Hope to see you soon! Here for you
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Trip was good but...
lexi825
, Jan 2020
My guide Jose picked me up promptly, spoke excellent English, and was knowledgeable. However, when we arrived at Sintra, the castles were closed. I didn't know this until I had walked a reasonably far way to visit one castle (Jose had gone to park the car). It seems like the company should have let him know earlier. Because of the wind, we were unable to visit 2 castles. Jose assured me the company would refund my entrance fees (which I'd paid in advance) and asked me multiple times for my address, which was uncomfortable. I have contacted the company twice to receive this refund and heard nothing. Basically, you're paying for the driver. Jose wasn't able to come inside both of the castles with me. It could be worth it - just a question of preferences.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear guest. We regret your experience with us was not as rewarding we all wished. José is a veteran of 100 tours and many satisfied guests. After investigating we have gathered that he had a bad day. In no way was this because of you and we do apologize for getting less than you expected from our tour. Here for you, Manuel
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Inexperienced guide on his 2nd day ever
aaronjs22
, Jan 2020
This was such a disappointing tour, as we had booked a half day private tour of two historical sites in Sintra. Our guide, who was very nice and professional, was basically an uber driver and not a tour guide. It was his second time ever being at the sites and knew absolutely nothing about them. My wife was Googleing things for all of us. He did not have proper tour guide credentials, so we had to wait in lines for him to get tickets, while we already purchased them online. This was completely unprofessional of the tour company to send us someone with zero experience. The entire point of these tours is to have someone to show you and tell you what it is your looking at. To make matters worse, after filing a complaint with Viator, the tour company never responded. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Aaron, I hope to find you well. Unfortunately it seems that you did not experience a tour with our company. After going over our logs and e-mails, no complaint such as you describe, was found. Nor can we confirm such a story recently with any of our tour guides. Here for you, Manuel
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful trip, exceptional guide!
William Q
, Dec 2019
My wife, daughter and I took this tour with our driver and guide, Caesar Ojedar, and he was sensational - informative, engaging and pleasant to be with.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for your kind words William, we're glad everything went according to plan, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and César's company as much as you did! Hope to see you again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Extra Little Experiences
Seaside42534449045
, Nov 2019
Our guide Caesar was great. Besides the castle, which was interesting. So glad we got the skip the line passes and he did all the work for us. In addition, he took us to a little out of the way cafe for coffee and pastries that the region is known for and also which pastry the cafe is known for. He also introduced us to Ginjas—this we would have never known about. It was these extra experiences that made the trip special for us.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for your kind words Seaside, we're glad everything went according to plan, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and César's company as much as you did! Hope to see you again soon!
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do